Guidelines for the Establishment of the Curriculum Committee of the Department of Political Science, College of Social Sciences, National Taiwan University

Approved by the Department/Graduate Institute Affairs Meeting on May 31, 1994

Amended and approved by the Department/Graduate Institute Affairs Meeting on October 15, 1996

Amended and approved by the Department/Graduate Institute Affairs Meeting on February 2, 1999 Amended and approved by the Department Affairs Meeting on January 5, 2010

and approved by the Department Affairs Meeting on January 5, 2010

Approved by the College Affairs Meeting on April 1, 2010

Issued in Cheng-Tzu No. 0005 (2010) on April 30, 2010

1. These Guidelines are established in accordance with the provisions outlined in Item 2 of the *National Taiwan University Directives for Establishing Curriculum Committees*.

2. The Curriculum Committee of the Department ("the Committee") is divided into three subcommittees: Political Theory Division, International Relations Division, and Public Administration Division. Each subcommittee is composed of seven full-time faculty members from the Department (faculty members on secondment are not eligible) and one student representative. The Department Chair serves as an ex officio member and convener of each subcommittee, and may invite alumni and external scholars or experts to attend meetings. Committee members for each division serve for a term of two years and may serve consecutive terms.

3. The responsibilities of the Committee are as follows:

(1) Planning and reviewing required and elective courses.

(2) Reviewing the establishment and changes of courses for each semester in accordance with regulations.

(3) Coordinating, integrating, and improving other matters related to courses and teaching.

In the event of any disputes regarding the aforementioned coordination issues, a full committee meeting may be convened to make a decision.

4. Each subcommittee of the Committee meets at least once each academic year. A special meeting may be held under any of the following circumstances:

(1) When at least one-third of the members of a subcommittee request a meeting.

(2) When the Department Affairs Meeting resolves to convene a meeting.

(3) When the Department Chair deems it necessary to convene a meeting.

5. A quorum of at least half of the members present is required for meetings of the Committee and each of the subcommittees to take place, and resolutions require the approval of a majority of the members present.

6. Matters not specified in these Guidelines are handled in accordance with the relevant regulations of the University and the Department.

7. These Guidelines and any amendments thereto are implemented from the date of promulgation after being approved by the Department Affairs Meeting and submitted to the College for approval for reference.